How To Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account?  

Nowadays people are using social media but actually, they don't know how to completely delete the account. So here are some steps to follow to completely delete the Facebook account.

Facebook is no doubt one of the largest social media giants with 2.8 billion monthly active users. Slowly, the company has seized other platforms, including Instagram, Messenger, and WhatsApp. For the past few years, some news has been making rounds online, reminding users how Facebook violated privacy and secretly collected data.

Here we are going to discuss “How To Delete a Facebook Account permanently?  “

facebook login page

Overall, it may sound scary, but it hardly made any difference to the users’ lives. People who love using the platform do not deter from using it, but there are a set of people who may not feel safe and question the site’s safety.

Whether you want to protect your data or stay away from the crazy platform, Facebook gives you the option of disabling the account temporarily or deleting it permanently. But, how do you do it? This blog will guide you on exactly how to get rid of your profile.

Before diving into it, let us discuss why you need to take such a stern step!

Why should you opt for account deletion?

facebook delete account

If there are so many questions crossing your mind, it is safe to take a break from the medium and enjoy your space. There is no hard and fast rule that you have to be a member of this community.

Facebook has become so addictive that it hampers daily work and social life. Spending hours scrolling the feed does more harm than good, especially to the students.

Sometimes, violence, pandemic, and other abuse news can take a toll on your mental health. And, as Facebook has become a great medium to share news, articles, and informative pieces, it may not go well with many sensitive minds.

Deleting a Facebook account can be a legit reason if you are getting affected by the different kinds of news circulating on social media. Moreover, if you are concerned about your privacy and security, yes, you have the right to take a step back from the chaos and focus on something else.

You can have millions of reasons to stay away from Facebook and other social networking sites . But, do you know that you also get an option of Deactivation? Sometimes, users tend to get confused between the two and make a choice that they regret later.

So, here we go!

What is the difference between deactivating and deleting the account?

Facebook gives two options to the users-

a) deactivate

b) delete

When you opt to be away from social media noise for a while, the former can be a great option.

Deactivating means your profile is invisible. But, you can go ahead using Messenger to interact with people because your profile is still visible. You can use your account to log in to other platforms like Pinterest and Spotify and reactivate your account when needed.

fb deactivate account

How to deactivate your account?

The entire process is simple. Here is a brief walkthrough.

  • Open Facebook
  • Go to ‘Settings & Privacy’ and click it.
  • Click on ‘Your Facebook Information, where you will find the ‘Deactivation and Deletion option.
  • Click on ‘Deactivate Account,’ and then click ‘Continue to Account Deactivation.’
  • Follow later instructions to confirm the process.

deactivate your account

How to delete your Facebook account?

First of all, account deletion is just a piece of cake! It takes a few minutes and is done!

But, before you take the final step, remember that you cannot reactivate your account. If you wish to be a part of Facebook again, you need to create a new account. When you delete an account, your pictures, videos, posts, and every other information will be deleted permanently.

Once deleted, there is no way back. You cannot use Messenger or other apps that you use with your Facebook account logged-in. If you have made up your mind to delete it, you can follow these steps to delete a Facebook account permanently.

Step 1: Open the app

Open the Facebook app. When you open it on the desktop, you will find a drop-down in the top-right corner, and in the case of the phone, you will find three horizontal lines. Click it and scroll down. You will get the Security & Privacy section.

Open the app

Desktop version

Desktop version

Mobile version

Step 2: Go to settings

Go to settings

When you click the ‘Security & Privacy’ button, you will find Settings, Privacy Shortcuts, Privacy checkup, and other options. These options vary in mobile and desktop versions. Click on Settings.

Step 3: Find ‘Your Facebook Information

The Settings lead to various options, which again vary in mobile and desktop versions. If you are using the latter, you can locate Your Facebook Information right below Security and Login. Click it, and you will find Deactivation and deletion.

Find Your Facebook Information

Things become a bit tricky when you use your mobile for account deletion. Your Facebook Information appears after the entire section of Privacy. There, you will find Account ownership and control; click on it. You will find Deactivation and deletion.

Deactivation and deletion

Step 4: Account deletion

Click on Deactivation and deletion, where you will get two options, clearly instructed what you need to do. While Deactivation is temporary, deletion is permanent. When you click on a Delete account (mobile), Facebook will ask you to state reasons. Press a suitable option and continue to account deletion.

Account deletion

On desktop, when you click Delete account, you will come across a box- Permanent delete account.

There will be two options-

1) To keep Messenger, deactivate instead

2) Download your information.

At the bottom of the box, you will get the Delete Account option. Click it and close the account.

Delete Account option

Titbit: Generally, it takes 90 days to delete the account from Facebook servers. You get a 30 days grace period to log back into your account and stop the deletion process.

What happens when you delete the account?

  • You cannot reactivate your account because the road is closed. But, you can take the opportunity during the grace period.
  • Your profile, pictures, videos, stories, and everything else you posted on the feed will be gone permanently. There is no way of retrieving the lost data.
  • You cannot use Facebook Messenger anymore.
  • If you have used a Facebook account to sign in to other apps, you may not be able to do it. You have to contact the apps or website to retrieve the accounts.
  • The messages you have sent to families and friends will be visible to them even if you have deleted the profile. Your friends’ inboxes will have copies of the messages that you have sent.
  • If you use the account to log in to Oculus, you cannot retrieve the account because it will be deleted, too. This includes your achievements, credits, and purchase, which will not be existing any longer.

Can you cancel the deletion?

Definitely, you can.

You can cancel the account deletion process within 30 days of the initiation. After 30 days, there is no other way to log in or retrieve the present information. Everything is DEAD!

It may take 90 days to delete all your posts and other information. However, during this, these pieces of information are not accessible to Facebook users. Copies of information may be stored in the backup after 90 days.

Sometimes, the Facebook team uses the data to recover some events or data loss. They may also keep information like harm prevention efforts, legal issues, and terms violations. You can go to the Facebook page and learn more about Data Policy.

data policy

To cancel the deletion process-

1) log in to your account before 30 days

2) Click ‘Cancel the deletion’

Anything more?

Once your account is deleted, your profile will not be shown to your friends and families. As stated earlier, you will lose all data, memories, pictures, and posts; you can still enjoy them if you download the pieces of information before deletion.

If you crave to join Facebook again, you need to create a fresh, new account and expand your network.

Conclusion

Facebook is one of the hottest social networking sites used globally. Whether you want to share your pictures or some stories, it has become a great medium to connect with people and share laughter. Yet, there are times when people feel that they have enough of Facebook and either opt to deactivate or delete the profile.

If you feel the same and wish to bid farewell to Facebook, go through the step-by-step process mentioned above. You can delete the account effortlessly!

Leave a Comment
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Subscribe to our newsletters